Archive for July 31st, 2006

honesty might not always be the best policy

July 31, 2006

This happened to me a few weeks back. I know I call myself truevil and all but really, I almost always use the normal moral codes. After this particular incident, I was seriously considering honesty is not the best policy.

I’m at uni and my course requires practical classes. These classes usually last for 3 hours. My motto for prac classes is “let’s get this bitch over with and get the hell out of here” and it serves me well. I usually finish the prac 1 hour early if I get a demonstrator who has the same motto for prac classes.

In my opinion, there are 2 types of demonstrators. The sympathetic deomonstrators and the not so sypathetic demonstrators. The sympathetic ones usually just tell us lazy bums student the answer and let us get the hell out of the lab so that he/she can get the hell out of the lab. The not so sympathetic ones just don’t do that.

Not only did I have the not-so-sympathetic demonstrator that particular day, the lecture materials for the prac that we were supposed to be doing wouldn’t be covered until the end of the semester. So I went there with basically a blank mind, which is usually the state of my mind every single prac anyway.

So I did my usual magic of finishing the practical part of the prac in one hour and wrote up the results in 3o minutes. By that time I thought I’d be out of there one hour and a half early. Man was I wrong. Not only did we get held back, we got an earful for not understanding the “mechanism of the reaction” which we hadn’t and still haven’t learned.

So where does honesty come in you might ask. Well, I confessed to the afforementioned demonstrator that I didn’t know about that particular reaction and I got an earful about how I was supposed to be on top of all the materials regardless of when it would be covered, yada yada yada… If I didn’t say anything about not knowing, I wouldn’t have to listen to that particular lecture about being on top of everything and I would have gotten out of there a whole minute earlier with my pride intact. After I got out of there, I swore I would never be honest again.

However, when I come to think about it, it wasn’t that bad really. True I got yelled at rather unjustly but then I was also at fault there for not whole heartedly prepare for the prac and for not shut my mouth when it counted. So the lessons to be learned here are:

  • Be prepared
  • Don’t incriminate yourself if you don’t have to
  • Honesty might not always be the best policy. And
  • Get thick-skinned sometimes so you don’t upset yourself.

Needless to say, I’ve been putting these lessons to use ever since.

this week’s weird blogs

July 31, 2006

Following up from last week’s extremely popular, comment attracting [2 comments in comparison to the average of 0 comment other post attracted], blogbusting success of weird blog links here’s this week’s weird blogs.

Here Now
Before you click on that link, be sure you are

  • Not homophobic
  • 18 years or above
  • Like comics books
  • Don’t normally drool when you see muscular men. [I’m just worried about the welfare of your keyboard, that’s all. And I don’t drool, ever! I might when I’m old and senile but I haven’t drool since I was 6]

Stefano
Something is definitely wrong with “random” blogs today. Blogs with the general theme of half-naked men seem to pop up more than usual. This blog is, allegedly, from the Czech Republic. The author, at first glance, seems to be extremely obsessed with his body. I’m not very sure if the pictures featured there are actually pictures of the author. Why am I not sure? Let’s just say that I can’t afford to actually read the damn blog on account of it showing an excessive amount of “flesh” and I am using a university computer. How weird would it be if people catch me looking at half-naked men regardless of my sex?

Coincidental cure
This is yet another trigger-happy oops, shutter-happy asian blog. Not actually a blog really. More like a place to dumb pictures. What makes this blog qualify for the strange blogs series is the fact that the pictures were taken in Melbourne.

ilOve derrPERSON sercetlyBUDD…
I know that I’ve already posted a typical Asian blog last week but I just can’t resist posting a link to this blog. This blog is blasphamy!
First, there is the music. At first I thought that it was some sort of ringtone with someone singing but then I realized that it’s the theme song from “Laputa: the castle in the sky” which is my second favourite Hayao Miyazaki’s anime after “Spirited away”. And the singing voices sound amateurish so I suspect that those voices are of the author and her friend.
Second, there is the language. I had to practically translate the author’s version of English to plain English to understand what the hell the author was writing about. Try this:

ToDae wen ii cum to schthe weather is very windy n wan to rain so all my
classmates like very sleepy after my common test ……………… after tat i
was cal to go down wif mira to see teacher coz i nvr go to the camp n only got
two day mc so flame…………..rite
tat y i dun like to go sch litter beat
must stay bck until 6 or see parent so wierd rite………
i m dam boring at
sch like no mood to study………………but nvrm bear for 1 more yearthern ii
cn do wat ii wan
the story will be contiune ……………………….

Jesus H. Christ! Instead of ‘today when I come’ (which is grammartically incorrect since it should be today when I came), she had ‘ToDae wen ii cum’ which freaked me out a bit when I first saw it considering the definition of the verb “cum”.
I know the story “will be contiune…” but I’m not sure I have the courage to return to this blog. One good thing though, it doesn’t have any pictures.